Truely, madly, frustratingly

I’ve spent about 3 hours trying to straighten my bike’s back wheel and it’s worse now than when I started.  I’d lost a spoke a while ago and a few others were loose but over the last few weeks I’d noticed the wheel twitching when freewheeling at high speed.  You don’t notice it when pedalling because you’re shifting your weight around but it has definately been getting worse and affects the braking quite badly as well. 
 
I bought a spoke key from my local bike shop, found some info on the internet and away I went turning my back wheel into an oval.  A little knowledge (together with a cheap tool) is indeed a dangerous thing.  I’m not sure if the wheel is beyond repair, I wouldn’t object to having to upgrade it to something lighter, stronger and more hardwearing but would rather have someone quickly straighten it out and point out where I was going horribly wrong.  I’ll see what the Bicycle Doctor has to say tomorrow.   
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

