Healthy mind?

I was fortunate to receive an unexpected bonus payment from work so I looked to spend part of it on something frivalous.  It was a toss up between a Wii and a DS Lite, and on the basis that the kids could not be trusted with a Wii for several years to come I opted for the DS Lite.  One other advantage is that it’s portable and if I find the right game it could help entertain Maria on long car journeys next year.
 
Nintendo brought their Brain Academy into the office a couple of months ago and I was taken by the Big Brain game because of its simplicity and playfulness coupled with the excuse that it’s good for your head.  The game doesn’t really stretch the capabilities of the Wii so should be just as good on the DS.
 
My Argos DS Lite bundle included Brain Training which is a game which gives you a notional brain age and then through the little puzzle games the idea is to train your brain to help you lower your brain age to the optimum 20 years.  The way it assessed us both was through a game of Paper, Rock and Scissors – where you respond to images by saying one of those 3 words to either win or lose against the machine.  Now my excuse was that I got a bit confused and was shouting "Stone" and "Hand" at the machine so I had a reason for my first assessment putting my grey matter at 80 years.  I don’t remember what Catriona’s excuse was.  Anyway after a couple of days playing my brain age has dropped to below my actual age (abeit by just 1 year) so yes I’m getting cleverer as well as a bit heavier, maybe the additional pounds are to be found in my skull?  
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

