Danger UXB

I got properly soaked this morning: you know you’re properly soaked when the fingers poking out of your fingerless gloves are going wrinkly and you have to call upon your emergency bills for duty as well as your emergency socks. 
 
My shoes gave up after 5 minutes and I might as well have been riding bare-foot as my feet were that wet.  Fortunately like all good former boy scouts I was prepared and had my trousers as well as the aformentioned undergarments wrapped up in a towel in the pannier. The usual change of shoes awaited me under my desk and yesterday’s Metro dried out my shoes just in time for the return journey.
 
By lunchtime the weather had changed completely and news of an unexploded WWII bomb found just over a mile from the office gave me an excuse for a lunchtime blast along the side of the ship canal.  There has been a lot of activity around the Middlewood Locks area where the first 4 locks of the old Manchester Bury Bolton canal have been unearthed to form the centrepiece of a large retail/residential development.  An alternative footbridge has been put over the canal just recently and I suspect that the East Ordsall Lane roadbridge over the canal is about to be replaced.
 
By 1pm there was no sign of a bomb disposal team.  A worker there told me that the bomb found in the old canal under the bridge was of no risk to anyone, and he was a bit disappointed that they weren’t forced to sit around doing nothing for more than a couple of hours. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

