A soaking and showers

I got proper wet today, the rain was that big lumpy stuff that almost hurts (well it does when you’re doing over 25 mph with no glasses on).  I’ve developed some stratergies for keeping as dry as possible although I’m still short of a few bits of kit to give me full all-weather capabilities.  My jacket is only really shower proof and although my over-trousers are Berghaus ones, disappointingly the seams of the lining have developed a few holes so they are not as water tight as they should be.
 
With the heavy rain of the last couple of days I had chosen to roll my work trousers up in a towel and stash them in my pannier, this avoids me looking like I’ve wet myself as I enter the office.  My shoes gave up after 15 minutes riding, as expected, and change of socks was essential.  My shirt was only as damp as anyone walking from the car-park so it wasn’t obvious I’d got a soaking.
 
We’ve been promised some shower facilities at work and I think they might be on their way quite soon.  I have volunteered to give up my car parking space to install bike racks, but have insisted that I won’t give up the space until the showers are installed.  I know our facilities people have been waiting on the landlord to approve the plans for the showers and that once they have the green light the work should be completed in a couple of weeks.  Today I traded e-mails over the most suitable bike racks, and they were subsequently ordered by Facilities so it looks like showers/bike parking might be arriving soon.  Then I can start hounding people about the Cycle to Work scheme the company has adopted!
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A soaking and showers

  1. sarah says:

    lol sounds lyk u av fun in the rain

Leave a Reply

