Stormy weather

I’m quite pleased with myself, as so far this year I’ve cycled 9 out of 13 days, today was the first time I got properly wet. 
 
The BBC (5 Live) had been giving warnings of storms in that rather vague Scotland, Northern Ireland and North of England area for over a week and nothing had happened so I ignored the warnings today.  It was raining steadily as I set off and I was prepared to get a bit wet.  I’m only shower proof and I’m sort of prepared to get soaked a couple of times a month before complaining about the weather.  I was just past the police station by Salford City shopping centre when my shoes gave up – it’s wierd how that happens, shoes and boot suddenly give up and from being relatively dry your feet quite quickly feel like they’re submerged in puddles.  The wind had mainly been behind me until about a mile from the office when the wind coming in off the Quays hit me.  I went from a 15mph to 0 instantly and the rim of my beanie hat was blown down over my eyes.  I rode the remainder of the journey on the pavement.
 
The weather became particularly wild around lunchtime and as I left just after 4pm the winds were starting to die down.  The roads were chaotic with the M60 closed at the Barton bridge and fallen trees affected other major routes but my ride home was only 5 minutes longer than normal as I chose to ride some of the more exposed stretches at low speed on the pavement.  It’ll be interesting to find out how long it took some of my car bound work colleagues to travel home.
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

