In charge, but sleeping on the job

Catriona left me at home alone with (all of) the kids last night for the first time whilst she visited Abi in hospital.
 
This experience was quite a contrast to the first time I was left alone with Maria; I wasn’t exactly petrified then but I must admit, as a new dad, I was a little nervous.  The first occasion Catriona left Maria in my capable hands was to enable her to go to the pub with her mates and this was back in the early weeks before she had started expressing milk, so I knew my ability to pacify my daughter would be limited.  I remember trying various holding, rocking and swinging techniques but those 90 minutes still rank as the longest in my life.  I eventually texted to say we were ‘missing’ Mummy and arranged to pick her up (not, I might add, before the agreed home time but to ensure there was no ‘after-hours’).
 
Last night was quite different; Maria was sound asleep, so no trouble there, meanwhile Alex was swaddled but restless and wide awake in his Moses basket after a good feed, and again there was no pacifying bottle option.  He remained awake for all but the last 10 minutes of Catriona’s absence (I don’t think he trusted me!) but this time the more capable Daddy had it sussed.  I was quite tired, so I lay in bed listening to City scrape a narrow FA cup win, at home, against lower division opposition, whilst rocking the basket gently each time he started to cry.  We were both sound asleep when Mum arrived home soon after 9:30pm and unfortunately missed what turned out to be Vassell’s winning goal for the Blues. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Friends and family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

