Back on the bike

I rode to work for the first time in a couple of months on Friday, and I cycled again today.  Mum & Dad bought me some more lights for Christmas so I have 2 front and rear.  I don’t mind cycling in the dark although it is a little more dangerous but I currently draw the line at the combination of rain and darkness which is just a bit too much to contend with first thing in the morning.
 
I keep a log of my mileage and since putting the odometer on my bike back in September 2005 I’ve ridden 3,126 miles.  2,356 of that was last year and so I’ve set a target of 2,500 for this year.  I can’t see me finding as much time to ride at the weekend this year so I’ll look to do much of the mileage through commuting.  With a 13 mile round trip to work it would take 192 trips or just 16 per month.  I’ve worked out that driving the 13 miles would require the best part of 2 litres of petrol per day or £2 (without considering all the other running costs).  If I just put away £1 per ride in a tin this should help me save towards my next bike.
 
On Saturday Maria had a first test ride around the block on a bike seat which she seemed to enjoy, I say ‘seemed to’ as she went very quiet but as you can see she smiled for the camera.  unfortunately it rained all Sunday but hopefully we’ll be able to ride around Heaton Park together next weekend. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

