Second Hand Songs

I was sent a link to a very useful website:
 
 
Within a couple of minutes I was a little wiser and much happier:
1 Apparently ‘Tainted love’ was first recorded by Gloria Jones
2 The bizarre version of ‘It only takes a minute’ by Jonathan King lurking somewhere in the depths of my record colleciton was not the original; Tavares did it first (and I’ll like to hear that)
3 And the one that really used to bug me was I had a fantastic version of ‘I think we’re alone now’ recorded by Lena Lovich which I think was a B side to ‘My lucky number’s 1’ (No 3 in 1979).  Surely that wasn’t the original that inspired Tiffany?  Nope, it dates back to 1967 (Tommy James and the Shondells – whoever they might be)
 
Alan ‘Fluff’ Freeman ascended to that great radio station in the sky yesterday.  Seeing him always used to make me think of Smashie & Nicey who must have been Fluff and Tony Blackburn.  The one scene that sticks in my mind is their bit of banter as they fade out Del Shannons’ poptastic hit ‘Runaway’…..
 
Mike ‘Smashie’ Smash – I wah wah wah wah wonder what Del Shannon’s a-doing these days Mate?
Dave ‘Nicey’ Nice – Not much Mate, he’s a-wah wah wah wah dead Mate
  
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second Hand Songs

  1. Nigel says:

    Weird – Just went back to that site to look at listings for a few groups and typed in The Smiths.  The live version of Rusholme Ruffians on the album Rank uses part of ‘His latest flame’ first recorded by the one and only, late, great, Del Shannon

Leave a Reply

