NaBeGroMo

I’ve declared this November National Beard Growing Month and I’ve only just told you about it now so I can steal a march on anyone who wants to compete against me. 
 
Inspired by a work colleague who’s a few days ahead of me, I only started myself 5 days ago, but because my facial hair is quite ‘localised’ it’s pretty obvious I’m doing something ‘intentional’. 
 
The moustache is nearly through the dodgy Gary Neville phase but the wispiness that develops with the extra chin growth makes me quite self conscious about my fluff, and I’ll freely admit I suffer from beard envy, ie being jealous of men who can grow substantial beards at a tremendous rate.
 
I saw an old school mate on friday night who had come over from Sweden for the weekend and he had a great beard.  I complemented him on how well structured it was; a proper beard, not bushy (though you could see that he could go bushy if he wanted to) and it was so well defined and framed without being all poncy 1990’s Prince.      
 
I’ve only ever grown 2 week’s worth before and then I dyed it red for a Samba performance in Birmingham.  That was 2 years ago, this time I think I can do even better and maybe even create something sensible looking. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Facial Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaBeGroMo

  1. Juliette says:

    I knew there was something different today!! Am I to be surrounded by ZZ Top-a-likes in a few weeks??

  2. Robert says:

    Pathetic Nige. Couldn’t even last a few weeks. I’m almost ashamed to know you.

  3. Nigel says:

    Sorry but it had to go, it wasn’t popular at home.   I’ll leave beard growing to the experts and I promise never to try beard growing ever again.  It was starting to go gingery/blonde as well which didn’t suit me.

  4. Pingback: Movember | 4 wheels good, 2 wheels better

Leave a Reply

