Feeling old

I’ve felt very old today for a number of reasons:
 
1. I went out for a jog on Saturday for the first time in a couple of years and after a 15 minute trot followed by an ever so sensible 5 minute cool down walk I’ve suffered aches for a couple of days.  My general level of fitness is fine due to cycling but I was upset that light exercising of another set of muscles has caused so much pain.  I will persist with running but add some stretches at the end. 
 
2. My CD collection is aging; I enjoyed Nuyorican Soul by Masters at Work yesterday…. until I realised it will be 10 years old next year.  I’m currently listening to Graceland by Paul Simon which is 20 years old!
 
3. Whilst delving into the more dubious depths of my collection I dug out Test Card Classics: The Girl, The Doll, The Music.  I must admit that I was ever so slightly disappointed by this compilation as I was sure that the test card transmissions were accompanied by Tijuana style, brash, brassy super-cheesy music.  The collection is a wide assortment of orchestral music with only 3 or 4 of the 20+ tracks sounding at all familiar to me.  Anyway, I find orchestral music great for cutting out the noise of the office and as I was listening to it today it suddenly dawned on me that the youth of today wouldn’t have a clue what a test card was and why it would be needed. 
 
Presumably test card music was played rather than showing the picture in silence because people watched it whilst waiting for a programme to start?  Just think, in my day there wasn’t even enough material to fill the mere 3 channels of TV and no back catalogue of programmes to repeat.  And then on top of that the Tele actually stopped at night with the national anthem being played, I can’t say I remember it as I was tucked up in bed and TVs hadn’t yet been invented that would fit into a bedroom (not that I would have been allowed one anyway).  Kids wouldn’t stand for that sort of nonsense today.
 
I remember the birth of televised Ceefax in the 80s and marvelling at such a leap forward in information technology, though the pages turned way too slowly and you had to read the page twice to maintain enough interest to continue to the following page.  With the death of the test card Carole Hersee no doubt joined the fast growing dole queue of Thatcher’s Britain and I wouldn’t have held out much hope for her finding a decent job as she clearly couldn’t even figure out a basic strategy for noughts and crosses.
 
4. Just used the phrases ‘Youth of today’ and ‘In my day’
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling old

  1. paul says:

    Rumour has it that the stuffed clown she had on her knee beat her 5 times out of 6.
    Ain’t it wonderful to start getting old.. I sometimes feel i’m turning into me grandad.

Leave a Reply

